index // older // notes // tag // sign



05.05.2002 Sunday morning @ 4:13 a.m.
*By hook or by crook*

It is Sunday and you know I hate Sundays because the next day is a Monday. How convenient. I'm blaming it on the next day now. Hur hur hur. And someone found this laughter familiar.

. . .

Been pretty hectic the past few days. Practice papers, compo marking, PMS (not Pre/Post Menstrual Syndrome but Primary Marking System or something like that), spelling books, level meeting, tootpaste-hunting, movie-watching, etc etc. Whew...so many things to do, so many things to settle. But I'm glad I waited the whole week for this week's Saturday cos I knew I'd still be catching the movie by hook or by crook this week. Hur hur hur.

Many people have been telling me how superb it is, how the webslings took their breaths away, how wonderfully-casted the actors are, how this and how that. And when I watched it for myself, I couldn't agree more. The movie is fantastic, what with the action, the comic-book plot, the effects, the visuals and let's not forget God's gift to all-deserving females alike: the boyish innocence of Tobey Maguire. Haha! He has this absolute boyish charm that really took my breath away. He was every bit the character that he was portraying and geez, he was in Cider House Rules?? I love that movie! Hur hur hur.

The movie started out as a twosome, cos other people couldn't make it at the slotted time but it was okay I guess. I didn't mind cos as I've said, by hook or by crook, I will be watching the movie this week. And by Jove, I did. Though something teeny-weeny unpleasant happened in the theatre, but I think it was a triffle in comparison with the magnificent movie. Now I'm being a show-off. Hur hur hur.

After Asar prayers and a late lunch, whom should we meet up with but Aya and Haslina. Speaking of which, I'm still investigating. Don't worry, I'll get to the bottom of : The Mysterious Online Diary of You-Know-Who. Hur hur hur.

I don't know how we did it, but we managed to persuade Azila to come down even though it was already 7.50 pm. =p And come down she did, so that by the time we were in Delifrance, there were about 6 of us, including Aya's younger sister Juli. Is that the correct spelling? God knows. Hur hur hur.

Azila and me stayed at Bedok McD's to try the new burgers. Hmmm...ate a lot but then I didn't mind. All in the name of food, I totally did not mind. Food is the source of energy and the source of life. Sorta. Somehow, it seems to be the source of Everything.

. . .

It is true that I enjoyed myself tremendously. So much so that I am not aware when people are in distress. Have you been through this, dear "annonymous" readers? You are in such a wonderful, jovial mood that you tend to forget about other people's problems? Oh, it is not wrong, I can assure you. We are entitled to our own feelings and opinions and of course, no one can make us say "white" if we want to say "black". But then again, it does hit the guilt department when you find out eventually. Well, it does with me. I wouldn't know about you, but I feel guilty when I realise that I have been enjoying life when others aren't. It's like, here I am, taking in all the richness of life and yet there they are, suffering in silence. I know I don't have to be responsible for their distress, but then again, as a friend, I can't help but feel so. No one told me to listen. No one told me to comfort. And no one certainly told me to put things right. But if I can't even in the least give emotional support, then what good am I as a friend? I might as well be some far-off acquaintance who shan't bother about the troubles of The People I Know As Friends. I might as well be some scrooge or some recluse, and just meditate with money surrounding me or with all the mantras of the world by my side, trying to achieve nirvana. Hmmm. It kinda poked me in that spot when I found out. I didn't know what to say, I didn't know what to do. I just sat there in silence. Cos for one thing, I don't know how it feels like to be in that situation and I certainly wouldn't know even if I lied my way through my words. I'd rather not say anything at all.

If that requires me to be in Speech and Drama Class, then I'd pass. I'd rather be speechless than comforting if I had to lie to be able to comfort. As the Catchphrase of the day goes: "With great power comes greater responsibility."



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?