index // older // notes // tag // sign



25.02.2003 Tuesday morning @ 2:04 a.m.
*Interfering or just helping?*

I'm a big fan of Enid Blyton. I've read a lot of her books and even though she has been portrayed as a conniving, deceitful woman, I don't bother with her morale nor character but simply devour and re-read all my favourites.

I especially love the Malory Towers series as well as the Five Find-Outers mysteries. Sally, Irene, Belinda, Fatty and Buster are but some of my favourite characters. They keep me coming back for more, even when I've read them a gazillion times.

However, there's a particular reward favourite that I'd like to share with you. It's entitled "Anytime Tales" (or "Bedtime Stories", I never could remember which) and there's a particular story called "Interfering Ina".

In the story, a girl called Ina had the most unfortunate luck when she interfered with a group of brownies playing leapfrog, who pretty soon cast a spell cast on her. Therefore, every time she interfered in anyone's business again, her nose would grow an inch longer.

It's a cute story but fiction nonetheless. Still, I've learnt what interfering can do. It can get you really really low, especially when the "interference" was actually your idea of a good deed to a loved one.

Sucks.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?