index // older // notes // tag // sign



01.06.2003 Sunday morning @ 3:45 a.m.
*Of men and marriage*

I just heard a car crashing along the expressway. But I can't see it. Not yet.

Hope no one died.

. . .

I told Huda about the type of husband I want. I guess it all came about in the feeder bus, on the way home yesterday night. Too much lime juice?

But I shan't digress. I just started thinking about it and the more I thought yesterday, the more I realised that my ideals were changing. In fact, I think they are still changing at the time I'm typing now. I mean, I used to think that I'd end up with someone around the same age or perhaps a year or two older, fairly presentable, has a steady income, is a good son/brother/whatever and is totally caring and understanding in the relationship.

Now, I don't think so.

First things first, how many times have we heard of the saying that the good men are all either married, broke, dead or gay? Eh? Sounds clich� but I believe in it nonetheless. In such an-already glooming economic world, it's so depressing to know that your qualifications need not be necessarily displayed in the type of job you eventually end up with. Unless you're an educator but then again.

Most of the men around me aren't stable financially. They're either serving the country/working part-time/dead broke/studying. Okay, so perhaps they're not really men but boys. Since they're not really that stable. Aye? Though the saying from Mr Frog that "you're not a man 'til you have seen them he-shes" totally contradicts what I've just said. Bleah. Anyhow, I want a man who is able to support himself and me. He doesn't need to support my parents, because that's MY responsibility. I'm thankful enough if he can support both of us (even if I am/will be working).

And speaking briefly of boys, I don't want a boy yah. I want a man. Age ain't nothing but a number and it might be true that some younger males might be mature beyond their years but they're still y-o-u-n-g-e-r. No offence to younger males, but I should know. I've dated them before. They're mature for their age but their level of thinking doesn't quite reach up to our level. (By "our", I mean laydees.) It's also true that older males need not necessarily act their age but hey, at least they're a few years ahead of the younger ones. And oh, even if you're the same age as me, you're still younger if you're born after April the 27th.

Wit is a must-have. I don't want a stupid man. I'm sorry if that sounded mean, but well..I'm not that smart either, and I do want to learn all the time. I want to learn from an intellectual man, who is able to talk about various things happening in the world, not just his work. He doesn't need to possess a degree or a masters but as long as he is well-aware and pretty much informed about national and global issues, I'm pretty excited. Who says you can't learn while being married? You can! You learn many other things besides learning how to be a wife, a daughter-in-law and a mother.

With wit comes humour. I don't want a man who's constantly serious. Nor depressing. I don't want a depressing man. There's nothing wrong in being realistic but depressing all the time? Nah, not my cup of tea. I know I tend to go into depressed mode sometimes but I'm a pretty happy person nonetheless. Even if I don't talk much. I'm happy. I'm not asking for a clown either, but someone who is able to laugh at himself..well, that'd be nice. Black humour, sarcasm..hey it works fine with me. A dose of it would work nicely, but pretenders to the throne are not welcome. I mean, I've met some men who think they're being sooo sarcastic and nonchalant but they just fall. Flat. Bleah.

And even though looks are secondary, I gotta admit, a fairly good-looking husband would be a pretty good catch. Not a hunk. I don't want a himbo with muscles nor chiselled-to-goodness looks. I'm not looking for a Manhunt model (even though I ogle, haha). I guess someone who is confident of himself and is able to carry himself well. When you're confident, you look good enough. Trust me. I've met people who probably won't fit into the Miss/Mr Universe category but are so confident of themselves, they just pull it off. Very appealing to me.

Rich old man. Old rich man. What does it matter? I think I've spoken my mind and I think it's fairly sensible. I'm going to grow old and I don't want to grow old alone.

But of course, it's not like I'm going to get married straightaway once I've found that ideal husband. :p I still want to enjoy my singlehood, being free and independent. Of course, if such a person exists, there is a possibility of entering a relationship but I'd rather take it nice and slow. No hurry, no hassle. I'm not sure if the other party can wait but well, I'll let nature take its course.

And have I mentioned that I will not marry a married man? No married men for me, nosireee!

I'm serious with all my thoughts. Especially the ones which I've just written. Come to think of it, I don't mind arranged marriages. If my parents/family members decide that so-and-so would be a good match for me, then well, I'll consider it. I know most young people nowadays pooh-pooh the idea of arranged dates/marriages but if your parents are the one arranging it, surely there is a hikmah behind it. Um, as in it being a good thing. Unknown good thing. I don't quite know how to explain it but hope you get my drift. My parents are a living example; their marriage was an arranged one. My paternal grandma showed my dad 3 pictures of different women, and for each woman she gave a description, telling him of their good characteristics and so on. My dad chose my mam and BAM! The next day, my dad's side went to ask for my mam's hand in marriage.

Sure, every marriage has its ups and downs. No marriage is perfect. But there's just something about arranged marriages set by parents. They're lasting I suppose. I mean, my older generation is mostly made up of such marriages and thank God, they're still going strong. Except when one party dies of course, but that's being separated by death, which is a different story.

I think all this thinking about marriage has also been influenced by Ika. Heh, I sobered up immediately after reading her marriage entry. Ika, kalau tengah baca and tengah groggy nie, harap-harap dah baik sikitlah hendaknya. Kasi alert. *grin*

An unusually long entry. Hope it didn't bore you.

. . .

I've seen the accident site. Someone got out of the crashed car. Civil defence truck. Hope no one died.

Bleah.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?