index // older // notes // tag // sign



15.02.2005 Tuesday morning @ 3:02 a.m.
*My Valentine is a 38*

I never believed in Valentine's Day, until I entered college. It was fun, to a certain extent, because since when was exchanging gifts and whatnots NOT fun? Hurhur, those were the days when I'd give closest girlfriends a little something as a token of my appreciation. Which actually seems quite shallow now because actually I could have chosen every other day to show my appreciation, yeah? But well, I don't deny the fact that I truly enjoyed February 14th, known to me (then) as Friendship Day.

I miss all my friends. Regardless of the aproximity as well as time and distance separating us, I have to admit that I do actually and fiercely try to cling to my friendships. Bad word that is: "cling", because I know how it feels to be clinged to. It's suffocating. But well, I'm just as selfish as the next other person and it's no secret that I hate to lose treasured and truly cherished friends, despite past misunderstandings and whatnots. Of course there have been times where I felt like throwing in the towel but after a while I realise that even during my donkey-est moments, those same people have stood by me with their lips firmly sealed. So I should be standing by them as well, especially when they're going through their donkey-est moments. (Don't ask me to explain what donkey-est moments mean; the term just happened. It's either you get it or you don't.)

For the past 2 years or so, I haven't been exchanging material comforts with the afore-mentioned friends but I have gained a deeper understanding of themselves. Like I always tell myself, there will always be more things about those close to me that I have yet to discover. And the more things I discover, the better I'll be at appreciating them and their actions. To me, that's worth more than all the cookies or cards in the world (although I don't mind jugfuls of chocolate crisps, thank you very much *wink*).

Ever since I've been introduced to the Big Ben, I've never gone out with him to celebrate February 14th. At least, I don't remember ever doing it, haha. Which goes to show that I've never done it. *smile* And it doesn't bother me because like a friend said, every day is a day to let others know how much you care for them. Every day is an opportunity bestowed upon us to show our concern towards others. We don't need February 14th to publicise so-called love.

Just let it be a gentle reminder, to never take others for granted.

Much like we celebrate Eid-il-fitri at the end of Ramadhan, does it mean that we only apologise and ask for forgiveness during the festivity itself? Does it mean that we only "abstain" from negativity during Ramadhan itself?

I'm just trying to explain my point. Bleah, sidetracked a bit.

Anyway, I thought I'd have time to finish 3 piles of Maths workbooks by 7.30 but as it turned out, I was "chased" out before I could even touch the damned books. Hurhur. Though actually the attendant was being damn hilarious; she urged a colleague and me (we were the last ones) to quickly leave and celebrate the day before it ended. So yeah, I was about to exeunt from the school grounds when Big Ben called.

We agreed to meet up for the standard budget fare. (We are very cheapo one; anything cheap is GOOD.)

I was in Somerset, crossing the road when he called and requested a favour. But really, he was in dire straits that I just had to help. Poor dude, he had to spend more than a half hour in a sarong, though at least, he managed to complete the last 2 prayers of the day while waiting for me to arrive with the goods. ;-)

It's yours FOC dey.

Anyway, hope the rest of you have yourselves a good life with great friendships maintained, God willing. Bye.

P/S: The ones whom I love, every single day. :-)





. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?