index // older // notes // tag // sign



26.11.2005 Saturday morning @ 7:43 a.m.
*Of writing and being responsible*

I'm going to be bitchy now.

Writing in an online journal is a trend in Singapore that I find hard to comprehend. If you ask me the reason as to why I write, it's because I had found Diaryland to be a useful outlet for me to rant about my problems and vent out my general dissatisfactions in life.

I mean, that's what I'd set out to do when I first discovered Diaryland about 4 years back. As of recent times, I believe (or am led to) that most Singaporeans who do keep online journals can be divided into two categories: (a) the ones who write to make a difference in the world, current affairs etc, and (b) the ones who write for themselves, as in those like me, who write about our daily experiences and significant/funny moments.

Keeping an online journal has become so common in Singapore, that almost everyone is doing it. 90% of the time, whenever I meet someone new nowadays, I'd be wondering if they have a journal. And most of the time, they do, even though I'm usually unaware of it initially. It's through random clicks that I stumble upon many surprising links.

Due to some journals receiving more public attention than others, the people behind the journals have thus risen to public fame and recognition. And even if they're not really known by the general public, they're known in Internet circles. By the way, I use the term "journal(s)" because the word "blog(s)" only began to surface with the advent of bloggers-turned-celebrities like you-know-who and many others. I don't think I need to link them up because they're famous anyway and I'm a teeny-weeny bit envious.

Harharhar.

But to keep track, I firmly believe in being responsible for my own writing, and personally, I think everyone who does write in an online journal, should too. For instance, if you want to voice out your unpleasant encounters with those from another race/country, then do so with cold, hard facts. If you intend to flame them, then be prepared to face the consequences (as observed to have recently happened to 3 Singaporeans). Long has the Internet stopped in becoming a mere invisible platform for potential racists and bigots, though I'm aware that there may be more out there, who are still scot-free.

In another example, if you're going to post explicit entries or pictures of yourself, then get ready for the comments and whatnots from "concerned parents or the public". Especially so if you're a civil servant! I mean, okay so you want to maintain your individual rights to free speech eh? In the first place, WHAT rights? Is there even free speech in Singapore? The fact that you're Singaporean or American or of any other nationality, doesn't entitle you to any free speech in the virtual world. Maybe in the past you could write something and get away with it, but with parents who are getting increasingly educated and the public who are more discerning towards any type of fiasco, you should probably think twice about posting your work pictures and letting it be known that you're a civil servant.

Phew, that seemed long. Haha.

So yeah, be responsible for your own writing. (Or don't publicise yourself.) If you're known to wear a piece of cloth to cover your heard, you might want to remove any incriminating pictures of yourself without the cloth. Let's face it, the minute a replica of such a picture is seen on your site, you know people will comment anyway, whether it's in front of or behind you, and whether you like it or not.

I'm just stating a few examples but there are more instances where people stop being responsible for their own writing. They keep putting up all these disclaimers such as this one that rings a common bell in most disclaimers: If you don't like what you read, then buzz off. Alright, yes, some people will buzz off but hey, that's not going to keep the rest away. On the contrary, the disclaimer also serves as an advertising tool, if not why do you still have throngs and throngs of closet readers like me? ;p

I'm not saying that people who put up disclaimers are attention-and-fame-seeking types. It's just that, when people remark or comment about an issue that you've written about, then it'd be good to reply or clarify the issue so that it won't blow up into a whole You VS Me kinda thing. Granted, there are those who themselves are NOT responsible when it comes to commenting etc, but hey, commenting is also writing, isn't it? It's also typing away into some mini little box so that what you write can be seen, isn't it? So be responsible for it! People aren't going to reply in a nicey-wicey manner if you're going to remark in a condescending way. Have a healthy debate! Research on whatever that you want to write upon! Get the cold, hard facts! People can't overthrow facts.

Okay, I'm done bitching for now. Hurhurhur.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?