index // older // notes // tag // sign



21.07.2006 Friday evening @ 6:43 p.m.
*Of being thankful*

I am thankful for today.

It has been a long day. I reached school at 8 in the morning for some "extra" duties, which lasted all the way till 11.30 (with no breaks in between, mind you). The first period, which happened to be free for me, was eaten into by a slide presentation in lieu of Racial Harmony Day. However, the next hour was free, so I managed to push through lunch, some marking and photocopying of worksheets for my dear monkeys.

Fridays are horrendous because my lessons are from 2.25pm all the way till the end. I am not spared during recess as I have the duty to overlook the kids during that time. Hence, you can imagine how tired and cranky I was throughout the day.

But, I am thankful, for not flaring up at my monkeys. They were better behaved too, as compared to yesterday. Perhaps, due to the enormous amount of work that I'd assigned to them, they managed to complete their work quietly, with some mutterings and whisperings in between.

Though they sure felt gutted at having to forgo their PE lesson in the last period. It's always the same thing; being noisy and unable to line up quietly as soon as possible. I know I am prone to impatience, especially since after being a teacher, but waiting 15 minutes for them to settle into their lines is just ridiculous.

They managed to clean up their act during dismissal. And it was then that I felt thankful for yet another thing; that the twin in my class (his brother is just next door) seems to be the better twin, alhamdulillah.

It has been a long day but I am thankful. Yes, I am really thankful.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?