index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.08.2006 Sunday night @ 11:26 p.m.
*Tom yam noodle soup*

I did some grocery shopping earlier and due to the number of plastic bags that were present, decided to forgo my initial idea of a take-away. Instead, I pounced upon the instant noodles that I'd bought and came up with tom yam noodle soup.

Of course, I am no cooking whiz and I certainly cannot conjure up a tom yam dish from scratch. Hence, the following recipe is merely a simple, quick, modified dish meant for non-purists (who might certainly happen to be hungry) to fill their stomachs.

Tom Yam Noodle Soup

Ingredients:
2 packets of instant tom yam noodles with soup condiments (*Note: I had used only 1 sachet of condiments. Big mistake. The soup tasted a little bland.)
1 red onion, chopped
1 chilli, chopped
1 tablespoon cooking oil
2-3 cups of water
pepper (if you like it spicier)

**Optional: Other ingredients to make the soup savoury like seafood, vegetables etc.

Method:
1. Boil noodles and set aside. Mix in a little oil to prevent noodles from clumping together.
2. Saute chopped onions and chilli in oil until there is a fragrant smell.
3. Add in soup condiments and mix well.
4. Pour in water and other optional items that you may have. Let the soup boil under low heat for about 5 minutes.
5. Serve soup with noodles in a bowl. You may garnish with parsley, shallots etc.

I'll try this recipe again sometime in the later future and if I have a camera by then, will try to shoot a bowl. Insya Allah.

EDITED: Shoot a bowl sounds weird yeah? Of course, you know I meant "take a picture" of the dish. ;)

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?