index // older // notes // tag // sign



28.08.2006 Monday morning @ 1:10 a.m.
*A cheesy treat*

While watching a movie on my laptop earlier, the craving for piping hot popiah suddenly appeared. In addition to something hot and crispy, I wanted it to be cheesy too. Hence, I came up with the following.

Sausage and cheese popiah rolls

Ingredients:
4 or 5 sausages, boiled and cut up into equal chunks
Kraft Singles cheese, cut up into squares (I'd used the extra light version)
1 packet of popiah skin (I didn't use the entire packet; only about half)
1 egg, beaten

Procedure:
1. Place a cut square of cheese onto a popiah skin, followed by a sausage chunk.
2. Wrap and roll up your popiah in any way you desire.
3. Use a fork/brush to slap on some beaten egg to "glue up" your rolled popiah.
4. Make more popiah until the sausages/cheese run out.
5. Deep-fry until they turn golden-brown.
6. Serve hot with chilli sauce or any dip of your preference.

I'd cut the cheese slices into half at first, and the first few rolls tasted too cheesy for my taste. Hence, I'd squared the cheese slices to reduce the cheesiness, and it worked. The rolls also were quite bland with the sausage+cheese combination, so I might just stir-fry the sausages with some spices first, IF I were to do this again next time.

Anyhow, I'd dipped my popiahs into the beaten egg before frying them. The result is as such.

The photo quality isn't good as I'd used the trusted webcam (lame lah, I know) but yeah...it was a nice, warm snack to fulfill my popiah craving. Nothing too difficult nor strenuous (for now), though I *might* just make the traditional popiah rolls when I feel more like it.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?