index // older // notes // tag // sign



03.10.2006 Tuesday morning @ 3:15 a.m.
*Home-made iced grape tea*

Question: What am I doing, still up at this unearthly hour?

Answer: Enjoying a cup of home-made iced grape tea.

Really, the weather has been truly unpredictable as of late and with the haze masking the atmosphere, I can safely say that I'm totally in heat (not to be confused with a dog in heat). Thus, I took it upon myself to concoct a cooling drink, preferably something fruity, with no milk present.

Home-made iced grape tea

Ingredients:

*Note: Makes 1 cup.

1 teabag (I used Lipton.)
2-3 grapes (I chose green over the red ones in my fruit basket; the greens are sweeter. Coincidentally, all of the grapes are seedless, so it might be best to remove the seeds if yours aren't.)
1-2 teaspoons of sugar
some hot, boiling water
some cold or normal plain water
plenty of ice cubes

Method:

*Note: The following method was how I'd made my cup earlier. Usually, I'll pour the boiling water first over sugar and the teabag, before adding a little bit of warm water to decrease the heat. That's how I usually make tea anyway.

1. Place some ice cubes in a cup, followed by the teabag and sugar.
2. Pour the hot water in and stir with a spoon until the sugar is dissolved.
3. Follow with cold plain water and stir well.
4. Crush the grapes and pop them into the cup.
5. Add more ice cubes and stir.
6. Serve chilled!

It's really refreshing and cooling, especially on this warm, late night/early morning. The grapes gave a fruity tinge and of course, you can even opt for other fruits or a whole array of fruits, like a fruit punch. :)

Try it yourself! :)


. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?