index // older // notes // tag // sign



26.05.2002 Sunday evening @ 10:03 p.m.
*I'm the Verbal Spit*

"Know what? There are so many secrets in this world and every secret is a mighty fine secret depending on how you choose to view it. We all have secrets. You have secrets. I have secrets. Having an e-diary/e-journal/e-blogger doesn't mean indulging in all the secrets in the world, just that it means being careful how you phrase whatever you're phrasing. I know I don't really place any barriers between here and the outside world save for a very thin wall that is pretty subtle to the eye. *grin* But there is a wall and only those who know what I'm really talking about are able to decipher secrets. And things. And what-nots."

For a nostalgic moment, click here.

* * *

That excerpt above made me want to say something. And yes, this is in relation with our journals and diaries and blogs and whatevers, be it virtual or real.

Most of my not-so-secret readers would know my stand on online journals. That is, if one does not like what one reads in someone else's blog/diary/journal, then one would have to just get the hell outta there pronto and never come back because one might feel offended or summat. Get what I mean? And well, I also believe in one's opinions being one's own and that no one else need to listen or agree if they don't in the first place.

Sometimes, I just don't know why people bother to keep on going to that same page or webbie or site when the contents there offend them. If they read something from a journal, and they feel as if they are the targets of the writer, and then they feel all angry about it, then why bother to come back and continue reading? I call that being a big busybody with a capital 'B'. And if the writer never even mentioned names at all (for the privacy and integrity of the person/persons involved), then why feel angry? Why feel as if one is the target if one does not feel guilty or in the wrong in the first place? Why?

I have a journal friend who had a very nice slogan as a welcoming note in her not-so-secret virtual writing solace. It said: "I don't write for the sake of you." And in my most humble opinion that you don't even have to agree with, that applies to most if not all bloggers/diarists/journalists. Most of them write to release tension, stress or even steam. They write because they feel it is a good outlet to express themselves. So then comes the next question: Why not get a real-life book/diary? And the reason is simple. Such books/diaries are susceptible to loss and more easily discovered by discerning parents or immediate family members. And the after-effect can be disastrous. Should one have understanding parents like mine who don't even bother to check the little nooks and crannies of my room, then one would be sorta safe. But should it be otherwise...? It happened to my cousins. *shrug*

Which is why, if one has stumbled upon something unlikeable in someone else's journal either pertaining to oneself or others, then one has two options. One either 1) keep mum about it and get on with life or 2) confront that someone else. So far, some have chosen the first option while some have chosen the latter. What they have chosen is none of my business, because as I've said, one's opinions are one's own and that no one else need to listen or agree if they don't in the first place. :�

* * *

Music of The Moment:

- "Boom" - Royce Da 5'9'

- "What Sound" - Lamb



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?