index // older // notes // tag // sign



22.02.2002 Friday evening @ 8:51 p.m.
*Ma-Me-Mo...ries*

What a most interesting date. It is the 22nd of the second month in the year of 2002. Interesting.

Somehow, I prefer this date to the other pado-something-wordy date (20.02.2002).

* * *

I had a most beautiful dream yesterday. Or this morning. Cos when I woke up it was 6 am and just about Subuh. Rafthah said that dreams that occur before Subuh are most likely true. Well, according to her ustaz and most of 'em anyway. In any case, it really felt real, and when I woke up, I was wondering, where'd the computer go?

I couldn't help hoping it was real. Stupidity does work wonders.

I wish it became a deja vu.

* * *

Radiohead Set-list :

Letdown [live]

Airbag [live]

The Trickster

My Iron Lung [live]

Killer Cars

Paranoid Android [early]

Street Spirit [Fade Out]

I love these songs. It amazes me how I don't get tired of them no matter how many times I've been listening to them or how long they've been left to gather v-dust. Ahh...the beauty of Radiohead. Simply gorgeous.

I am reminded by past incidents. Some are significant, while some are not of any particular importance at all. But upon hearing Killer Cars once again, I am brought back to my laughing days with Alia and my 3SHA Watcher and Food i/c. Har har...those were the days. We'd get onto the bus every morning and wait for each other during the year of '99, without fail. If one or the other was late, we'd eventually meet her at the courtyard. Har har...wonderful memories. Those were the times when we'd ogle at Alia's and my McDonalds' guys. Very fun. Those boys belonged to the school next door and we managed to sneak looks at them from time to time. Eh...now I'm not sure whether they were from the school next door. Or were they from...?

Whatever it was, we even managed to find out the name of one of them. *evil wink*

Those were also the days when we'd make up hilarious and sometimes-inappropriate nicknames just so that we could refer to people in peace without others knowing it. It was our "code" and we held onto it lovingly. Even other people did'nt know of it until much later. Har har...hilarious. The various nicknames we came up with. "Landmark", "Setapak Dua Tapak", "Jejaka Perasan", "Scaryguy", "Ah Hock", "Smileyguy", "Nougat", "Roger" (hahaha!), "28", "Promotion", "Perempuan Gila Anak Saudagar Penipu" (whew...a mouthful, but MOST appropriate!), "Exhibition" (I've quite forgotten whether it's the correct nickname but I'm pretty sure of it nonetheless), "Momok", "GI Joe", "Fat Bastard", "Unab-sunamun"...whew! The list is endless! But now that I've done some reminiscing, I am happy. *grin*

* * *

Talking 'bout this, I'm kinda reminded of my early childhood, back in upper primary. To tell ya the truth, I know I'm obsessed about my weight and so forth, and somehow, I think this could be attributed to the fact that I was such an overweight child (I still am) in primary school. Not so much in lower primary, but only starting from p4 onwards that I began to put on the kilos. Watching the scales was painful, but being overweight also meant that I was already more developed than my other classmates at p5-p6. Being well-endowed, taller, the likes. I was taller/the same height as the gerls/the boys but I guess now I'm pretty much a short laydee. =p

And speaking of well-endowed, I remember vividly the time when I was forced by my mam to wear the...ehem...bra. And I blatantly refused. Hahaha! Pretty silly of me. Such an immature little twit. My mam meant well of course, wanting to protect my modesty and all that, but my mindset worked this way: bra = growing up = womanhood. And somehow, even though I had experienced menses earlier than my other gerl classmates, I didn't feel like I was any older or mature than them. Au contraire, I still preferred to play on the swings, hang upside down like "sausages" on the exercise bars, grab hold of the monkey bars, and so forth. I felt it was weird to talk about boys and have boyfriends at that age, even though I experienced my first crush at 10 and I couldn't help wondering what "nice boys" Rudie and Dazhi were. Har har...I used to fuss about Dazhi or "Otah" (pronounced Ou-ta since his full name was Ou Dazhi) cos he sat between me and Marvin right in the first row, and yeah, I sat by the window. *grin* I looked upon him like a "younger brother" cos to me, he was just like a little boy. Oh, he wasn't short nor small, nosiree. He was about the same height in those days, and he was bashful around gerls, especially me. He used to grin shyly and show his teeth everytime he got praised or spoke kindly to, and I remember his tears whenever he got pounced upon by Mrs Teo. Sigh...nostalgic! But he was smart, Dazhi was. He was brilliant at Maths, and the last I heard of him was that he had become a Number One Ah Beng.

Come to think of it, I had a teeny-weeny crush on him, cos to me, he was among the nicest boys in school. Even if he was Chinese and an Ah-Beng-to-be.

* * *

I love good memories.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?