index // older // notes // tag // sign



02.04.2002 Tuesday afternoon @ 4:46 p.m.
*Temporary Deafness*

Do you know how it feels like to be deaf? Okay, not to say, completely deaf, but just even remotely deaf?

. . .

I realised with a hectic franticness that I had forgotten to include my PE lesson plan inside the floppy. And that only entered my head when I was leisurely wiping myself in the bathroom at 6.30 in the morning. So after my Subuh prayers, yours truly just switched on Mr Freeze while getting me ready for school. What the heck, I thought, if worst came to worst, I'd just have to type the stoopid plan in school during my breaks then.

So after I was ready (it was 6.45 am by then), I started to type away, writing whatever nonsense that came to my head. Okay well, not really nonsense, but roughly an idea of what I'd be doing for PE throughout the week. After all, I've read the syllabus term by term and I am a PE teacher. Hur hur hur. But then stoopid me had somehow misplaced the book. Somewhere.

Nevermind, I thought. Almost finished. Hurrah. But it was just then as I was typing that this weird sensation appeared in my left ear. Hang on, I thought. I'd been through this. It was just last week! Golly, but it felt worse. Sorta like the whole ear was blocked and I couldn't hear myself speak from that ear. The right ear was working, thank goodness.

I dismissed it and continued to type. And around 7.05 am, I left the house and whoosh the Big Daddy went on his trusted Vespa.

Thought it was nothing, but as I was making my way to the Parade Square, I found myself to be walking like a drunkard! Gosh, what the heck was wrong?! I couldn't perform if I was walking like that. And to my horror, I couldn't hear my voice though I swear I raised it by the decibels. Sorta like it was all muffled inside my throat.

Grabbed Norrah by the arm and confided in her during the brief moments before assembly. She advised me to tell Mei Lian and get cracking home. Which I did. And when I got to the doctor's, my my, was I surprised at her verdict.

"Earwax in left ear blah blah blah..hardened blah blah blah...affecting your system blah blah blah..eardrops blah blah blah..5 drops each time twice a day for 3 days blah blah blah..may need syringing blah blah blah.."

And I waited 20 bloody minutes for her to arrive. If I was suffering from labour pains, I'd most probably have given birth even before she stepped foot in the clinic.

. . .

The thought scares me. Much more scares me than being blind or dead. Just cos I won't be able to listen to my Mogwai then. =p

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?