index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.11.2002 Wednesday morning @ 2:16 a.m.
*Preachers!*

You know what? I hate self-righteous idiots. I hate all those people who put up a religious facade and pretend to be so right and proper all the time. I hate them for saying that everyone else is wrong and they're the only ones who are right. I truly hate them.

I know that this kind of people exist even in our modern and civilised society. I've known that they have long been existing ever since time immemorial. They have been around since God knows when. All this while I have tried to ignore people like that who are being so religiously critical of others because I have been like that in the past. Yes my dear readers, I was once a bigot. A self-religious bigot if I might say so myself. One who is intolerant and refuses to adhere to the creed or views of others. One who is too fond of discriminating the actions of others. One who is likely to be hated by most if not all. But I realised my mistakes. I hated myself afterwards. I hated myself for being so goody-two-shoes and trying to put down those whom I thought were wrong. I hated myself for being so incapable of accepting people's opinions/views/actions/mistakes and even my own faults. I was such a ridiculous asshole if I might say so myself.

I'm not trying to boast or to show that I've so much changed for the better. But I just want to point out that yes, I have come round to accepting other opinions and views other than my own, and that I have realised that I cannot be perfect for there is no such thing as perfection. I know perfectionists exist but I realise that these people are striving to be perfect or do things that would seem perfect, which actually goes to show that they are nowhere near perfect. I'm not against them, oh no. It's actually easier for me to accept whatever they are. Which in turn makes me less of a bigot or a self-righteous moron in other words.

I know how it feels like to be accused of something that's so-called "wrong" even though I'm not exactly in the "wrong". You ever felt like that? I'm assuming you have because everyone would have gone through the experience. Someone or other reading this would have encountered it. You know, you're talking to a person, having a social conversation and suddenly the person gets up and starts pointing fingers at you. Not literally, but you get me. He/She says that something you have done/are doing is not appropriate, say, in religious terms. In my case, having a relationship. What did this pain-in-the-ass say? Oh, that it's wrong to date before marriage. It's stated "in the hadith crystal clear" that we cannot date before marriage. It's this, it's that.

Seriously, it's like this asshole was making things up, saying what's allowed and what's not. I read up something(the source is verifiable and trustable) and it says that it is definitely wrong to make up what is halal(*Note: allowed) and what is haram(*Note: not allowed). From the Al-Qur'an, surah 110: An-Nasr (which means "pertolongan" in Malay or "succour, divine support" in English), "116. But say not - for any false thing that your tongues may put forth,- "This is lawful, and this is forbidden," so as to ascribe false things to Allah. For those who ascribe false things to Allah, will never prosper." I just hope that he read that before he sprouted all that he said to me. [*Note: The source is right here.]

Somehow, right inside of me, I can't help but feel that he's just a sore loser who has failed in relationships before. He's definitely not dumb since he claims he's from NUS. You know, there have been such cases whereby so-and-so hides behind a religious facade and pinpoints the blame at everybody else doing this and that simply because he/she has been unsuccessful at hooking up with someone/rejected by someone and fell down on the face flat like splat.

Gah! I HATE such people! I mean, just because you're not able to find someone, you start pointing your fingers at those who can? What a load of bullshit. Such people are a HUGE DISGRACE to those who are proud and happy singles. Really! I have many friends who are not in any relationships and ENJOYING their lives at the moment. They don't go round being helluva religious freaks and accuse people who are attached of being immoral.

Sure, there are those who have boyfriends/girlfriends and they have sex with them or something. Even if it's forbidden by religion or someone doesn't like it or it's considered immoral in the eyes of society, it still doesn't give anyone the right to point any fingers at them. God will deal with these people. God will deal with us. God will deal with everyone.

Remember, as much as we're pointing our one finger at them, four fingers are still pointing back at us! (I quote Huda.) YOU, the moron who was pointing your finger at ME, you know who you are. And if you're reading this, well you go and reflect on yourself.

You asshole.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?