index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.11.2002 Wednesday afternoon @ 4:00 p.m.
*Nothing like...*

Just got back from Jurong. Had to see the supervisor regarding practicum. Henceforth, I shall refer to her as The Sup.

Anyhow, earlier today I went back to Haig Girls' and decided to surprise my kids. However, due to much ado about all the gates being locked (for safety reasons I assume) and calls being transfered to so-and-so, my "surprise" didn't turn out to be much of a "surprise".

As expected, they were delighted to see me and even more delighted when they saw that I came bearing gifts. Hah! It was a last-minute thing because I didn't know what to get them. Just glad that I was able to see them. *sigh* The class photo that we'd taken earlier turned out nice too. For once, I looked decent and presentable, unlike the times when I was usually decked in sportsgear and running shoes, all hot and sweaty due to several classes of PE almost every single day, and not bothering to look my best. Well, I'm a teacher and after a while, even though teachers get the privilege to dress up as we wish, at the end of the day, we just don't care how we look like.

Which explains why after a few years or so, most young teachers tend to look not so young anymore, having put on a few more wrinkles and stress lines instead. We'd stop caring about our appearances (unless we're some bigshots like the HOD or the Principal but even so, you'd find that some HODs don't bother to dress up too) and focus more on finishing the syllabus. Regardless of whatever the People Up There say, the bottomline is that, excellent results and thus ranking, take the highest priority. On top of that, there are also the nitty-gritties like administration, problem children, problem parents, personal teacher documents and all the other etceteras that we have to deal with. And you wonder why we always have those unmistakably dark-circled, puffy-looking eyes?

Sometimes I'd hear someone or other say, "Oh but it's just a job. You shouldn't be too consumed with your job." Well spank my butt it's just a job! It's a job that carries tremendous responsibilities and yes, I know some of you might be smirking out there thinking, "Oh but all jobs carry tremendous responsibilities." And yeah, you're right there misters and missies, all jobs do carry a lot of responsibilities but they sure don't let you carry other people's responsibilities.

The teaching line requires you to be not just the teacher, but the facilitator, the mother, the father, the maid, the guardian and so forth. It's not just about coming to school every day, lecturing the class, assigning them work, marking the work, returning it to them and going back home. It's also about being caring, responsible, understanding, competent, gentle AND firm all at the same time. Darn, we're miracle workers. There are a whole lot of expectations that come along with the package. It looks attractive enough on the outside but once you've experienced what's inside, well, HELLO NURSE...you're going to wish you'd given it more thought and been more prepared.

As much as it all sounds scary and terrifying, it's the truth. It's the harsh reality of the job. Any seasoned teacher you encounter will tell you basically the same thing. You don't know what goes on in the staff rooms. Bleargh. Aside from that, if you're new or you don't get along well with anyone, it's sure to be on every other person's lips within the day. News travel that fast.

However, most teachers deal with it. They get immune to it. They simply take it in their stride. And you want to know why?

The answer's because the children are always there to light up their lives. There's nothing like seeing the happy smile on a student's face when he/she has just did well on a test. Nothing like seeing attentive faces during a 2-period lesson. Nothing like having a few students come up to say that he/she had enjoyed the mini presentation on the human skeletal system. Nothing like having a whole bunch of primary 2 girls hugging and telling you that you're their most favourite teacher ever.

Those are the things that made me want to become what I am today. At times I feel as if it's all too much but after a while I change my mind because I can't see myself in any line other than teaching.

Don't you want to join us?

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?