index // older // notes // tag // sign



15.03.2003 Saturday evening @ 8:50 p.m.
*Gallivanters!*

Today I gallivanted at Tanjong Pagar and Bugis. Initially I was with Huda but when she left for her convention, it was up to me alone. The one ultimate task that had been on my mind the past week.

To find the perfect present for him.

. . .

We had already agreed on literature as the first component of the entire package. We wanted a second component as well. So we decided, initially, on a "real deal" . Something which had me scouting along Amoy Street alone and having to bear cat calls and wolf whistles from some uncouth men who also tried to do their best to attract my attention by singing some Malay song unintelligably. I simply ignored them.

Felt like a lost sheep going round in circles, so I had Mr Z call me and direct me as if I was a surviving participant in Amazing Race. Love that show. Anyhow, he directed me to the place that I was looking for, only that it wasn't a "real deal" place anymore, but a design company. Tsk. I could have killed him, I really could. Strangling would be a good option, yes?

But I digress. Moving on, I discussed with him other options and thus, found myself in Bugis. Both "real deal" shops were existing and available so I grabbed a few pamphlets and halfway, changed my mind in favour of apparel. Thus I went on a seemingly-endless journey in search of the perfect apparel. However, candidates for "the perfect apparel" were either too gaudy or too expensive. Hence I scrutinised potential winners and decided to walk aimlessly looking for nothing in particular. And surprise surprise! Stumbled upon long-lost schoolmates from secondary level, two of 'em. Made excellent smalltalk with one but not the other. Really, I didn't have anything to talk with the other. Didn't know what to talk about anyway. But she appeared friendly. I shall give her the benefit of the doubt. So yeah, that was that. How I missed one of them.

Sat down and was sending sarcasm over the keypads, when a lanky Goth-like man approached and asked to borrow my phone.



Man : Assalamu'alaikum. Boleh tak saya pinjam handphone awak? I need to call my friend.

Me : (shakes head without saying anything)

Man : Saya nak telefon mak saya?

Me : (shakes head again)

Man left shortly.



Psycho Goth. I saw him again when I was with Huda some time later and he gave me weird looks. He seemed to be following us, so we walked a 'lil faster than usual and concluded that, if he ever decided to stalk us, we'd stalk him back. Cool aye? :p

. . .

In the end, Bedok became the winner. How simple it is to look for the one nearest to you.

Doesn't that apply to other things too?

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?