index // older // notes // tag // sign



09.11.2003 Sunday morning @ 1:25 a.m.
*Two mothers*

I stayed over at an aunt's on Friday. Helped her to make Eid cookies as she has orders to take care of. With her daughter (my cousin) and another aunt, the four of us worked hard (yes, we worked) to make the first type of cookie. I'm not sure how many types have been ordered but this particular one that we made involved tedious and complicated steps. Okay, so almost every known cookie or biscuit involves tedious and complicated steps!

But enough about cookies already.

The amazing thing that happened was that, on that Friday night (the one that just passed) itself, a lot of ideas presented themselves to me. Ideas for entries, haha! I recalled the day's events and conversations and I realised that there were so many things that I could write about. So many, I think I've just lost count. Um...but fret not. If I can remember them, Insya Allah, I'll write about them someday, tomorrow or today. Hur hur.

Anyhow, this particular aunt of mine is somewhat the closest relative to me. Well, I'm pretty tight with the relatives on the mam's side but this aunt is by far the closest. I call her ibu (*Note: The word "ibu" means "mother" in Malay. There are many other synonyms for "ibu" such as "mama", "ummi", "emak", "mak" etc.) and so do her other nieces and nephews. Heck, that name has sort of become her nickname that even my grandma and the other uncles and aunties call her ibu.

I guess, she's somewhat like a second mother to me. True, I have my own mother (whom I call mama by the way) whom I care for and love very much no matter what I say or do. It doesn't mean that I love my mama any less. It's just that, as I grow older, I find myself getting closer to ibu as compared to mama. Even if ibu is just an aunt, I realise that there are so many traits that I share with her.

For instance, my cynicism and sarcasm. My own parents aren't like that. I mean, they're not nearly as cynical nor sarcastic as ibu can be. Don't get me wrong. Ibu is as nice as the girl next door, but she can be just as "naughty" as a playful kitty cat. I never get bored listening to her amusing stories of childhood escapades and sibling love (read: teasing and bullying each other). However, there is sure to be a moral to be learned behind each anecdote.

I'm thankful to God for the love that my two "mothers" have given me. Amen.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?