index // older // notes // tag // sign



29.02.2004 Sunday morning @ 10:47 a.m.
*On love and logic*

I've heard of this saying: "Better to be with someone whom you can't live without than someone whom you can live with." Somehow, chanced upon it again while I was randomly surfing. I think it's a silly saying. Don't know who started it in the first place, but come on..it sounds so desperado.

I mean, okay..so maybe you're hopelessly (or dangerously, hur hur) in lurrrve with so-and-so but somehow you can't be with him/her due to inexplicable reasons which I shan't bother to mention. Though you know, what if there's someone who truly and sincerely cares for you, just that you don't view the person as an option? Someone whom you're okay but not necessarily fabulously comfortable with? Would you take a chance or continue to pine with extreme devotion for the forbidden fruit?

From another angle, the above saying could also mean being with someone who you absolutely cannot tolerate or stand, someone who is simply mud to you, a person who irks you with his/her mere presence. This is in contrast with someone whom you CAN tolerate, a person whose faults and flaws you accept graciously, though not without gentle and constructive criticism. This is the logic which I'm more favourable towards, in the sense that it certainly gives me a lot to rebutt upon! Haha. Makes more sense doesn't it? Haha.

Think about it, if say I lean towards the earlier and more popular reasoning, I'd be putting myself on the line now wouldn't I? If, for instance, you continue to yearn for a person who expressed a certain wish to severe all ties with you, it'd be more sensible to pick up the pieces of your life and get a move on, right? Sure, there'd be a certain period where you'd be absolutely down in the dumps, which could stretch from a month to as long as 10 bloody years (this is really true; I've done some private research!), but then again, at the end of it, you just HAVE to keep a grip on your life right? Start widening your horizons, keeping your mind open to beautiful possibilities (now where have I heard this phrase "beautiful possibilities"?), extending your circle of friendship, indulging yourself in an enjoyable and stress-relieving hobby, spending more quality time with family and friends..the list is endless! There are so many things that you can do to keep yourself meaningfully entertained. *beam beam*

But if I lean towards the second interpretation, I suppose it's even more suicidal. (I'm not agreeing with either interpretations, just giving two very different interpretations eh. Blergh, think I've been confusing.) I mean, to be with someone who repulses you...man that's got to be worse. *shudder* Which is why I won't live with someone whom I just cannot stand even if we get on alright you know? As opposed to someone whom I'm just pretty okay with.

A random thought which has just sprouted into some philo gibberish. Harhar.

P/S: By now you would have realised that I'm not agreeing with either interpretation. *grin* Just giving two different interpretations, that's all. Haha, sorry! Made you confused didn't I? :p

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?