index // older // notes // tag // sign



14.01.2005 Friday morning @ 12:22 a.m.
*Shocking surprise*

One of my dearest and bestest colleagues will be leaving in a few hours' time. She will leave with her husband for the holy land of Mecca, to perform a pilgrimage. She will be there for a month.

It was a shock initially, when she told me earlier in the day (Thursday) that she would be leaving the very next day. I guess she didn't want to make such a big fuss about it, but really, it caught me by surprise. I'd heard from someone the day before (Wednesday) that she would be going for haj, but I didn't want to believe hearsay.

As the words left her mouth, I merely engulfed her in a hug and let my tears do the talking. Having worked with her for the past 6 months or so, I've found her to be an extremely helpful and generous person, always willing to lend a hand despite her own difficulties. She's also an art enthusiast, possessing a creative flair for anything art. Of course, she never fails to cheer me up at work with her humour and cheery disposition.

She's like a big sister to me.

I pray that she will be able to perform the haj with a calm mind, a healthy body and the resoluteness of a brave muslimah. Insya Allah, she will return (with her husband) safe and sound, albeit having performed a successful pilgrimage.

A month somehow seems so long without her.

God bless you, my dear friend.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?