index // older // notes // tag // sign



02.03.2005 Wednesday night @ 10:46 p.m.
*Money: my evil or yours?*

How would you react when an acquaintance asks for your help, specifically in monetary terms? Plus, we're not talking about a couple of tens or twenties here; it's more like a couple of hundreds to a few grand.

I had a shock when I received a message from an acquaintance, telling me of the urgent need for $2000. It was obvious that I'm not the first she'd turned to because she'd said that someone else had kindly lent her a tenth of the worrying amount. However, she added that it would be okay if I were unable to lend her any money.

You know, this isn't the first time people have asked to borrow cash from me. One of my earliest memories dated back to my secondary days, when I was in a particular single-gender school. My closest friend during the upper secondary times had called me up, asking whether I had $200 to spare. Of course, being a normal secondary schoolgirl with limited allowance and meagre savings, I didn't have that amount. However, I had some balance from my Eid collection which totalled $70.

I'd handed all that to her, having known her family's background and financial crisis as well as holding on to my faith and trust that someday, I'd see my money back.

I've since made that money halal for her and her family. She won't ever have to pay me back, even if I see her again unexpectedly.

From that point onwards, I've had people coming up to me with bits and favours, which I didn't mind 'cos I remember what someone used to tell me: "Whatever money you've given out of sincerity and the goodness of your heart, will be returned to you insya Allah."

I find that true because from my previous encounters with acquaintances, friends or even strangers on the street, money seemed to roll in after I've given some of it away. Though you know, it's not like I idolise money so much; I know I've worked hard for my money and I do want to enjoy it someday. It's as simple as that (to a Taurean like me).

I also admit that I can be a tightwad at times, finding it hard to part with my moolah unless it's for something urgent or practical.

Back to the said acquaintance in the first paragraph. I thought about it while I was watching TV, in the shower and surfing my daily dose of reads.

I will help her.

Even if it's not much and I spend a little bit more time saving again, I will help her.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?