index // older // notes // tag // sign



25.03.2005 Friday night @ 8:55 p.m.
*Get off my face*

Some guy came to my doorstep, asking for a donation. I didn't open the door, but my brother did and eventually, my mother came round to see what the matter was.

Apparently the guy was from some Bedok association and he was asking for a 10-dollar donation for the troubled youths whom the association is helping. Knowing my mother in her confused state, she can never say "no" despite not having money herself. So obviously, she agreed and rummaged her wallet for whatever notes she could find to make up $10.

I don't mind donating but after a while it gets monotonous, because people are always coming up to me on the street and asking for donations for this and that. Even worse, they have a "fixed" amount of money that they'd like to be donated, which I personally find to be a put-off.

I understand that these associations have a target sum to reach in order to help whoever they're supposed to help, so of course, they place a fixed amount to every ticket or coupon that they sell so that they can reach their target as soon as possible. But you know, it dampens the mood of those who are want or are willing to donate. Sometimes when all you have in your pocket is a 10-dollar note for your lunch the entire week and of these people step up to your face and beg you to kindly buy a ticket worth $10, it really really spoils the mood, know what I'm saying?

It's not so bad when the ticket enables you to get some food in exchange, but really, on those days when I'm really tightening my belt, it's a bit off-putting.

With regards to the Bedok association guy, he gave my mam a box of potato pastries (basically karipaps baked by a confectionery in Onan Road) in exchange for a 10-dollar donation. I was surprised though, that he didn't take the money straightaway, but also instead gave my mam an envelope with a note and donation ticket inside. The envelope had been addressed and stamped, and it was then I realised that we were to post the money after having received the pastries.

The association must have so much faith in the public! For you know, people could easily eat the pastries without ever sending any donations back. However I read the note in the envelope (it was meant for the people who donated) and it went something like this in Malay:

Dear Sir/Madam,

Our representative had come to your house but there was no one around. Thus, we have left this envelope and a box of pastries at your door, in the hope that you would send a donation to the above address. If you have any queries, please call so-and-so at the following number.

Hur.


. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?