index // older // notes // tag // sign



10.08.2005 Wednesday afternoon @ 1:04 p.m.
*Of fireworks and dreams*

Yesterday I caught the fireworks which were commemorating the nation's 40th birthday. There were fireworks of various shapes, sizes, patterns and colours. Spectacular as the display was, a few questions ran through my mind as I was watching.

1. Who was/were in charge of the fireworks?

2. From where did they "shoot" or "fire" the display?

3. How many fireworks were used?

4. From whom/where did they buy the fireworks?

5. How much did the fireworks cost?

6. What enabled the fireworks to simulate patterns i.e. stars and flowers?

On any other day, I wouldn't have given a second thought to ask those sort of questions. But somehow, when a friend commented in passing with relation to the dragon fireworks in the movie version of Lord of The Rings, my curiosity got the better of me.

. . .

I had a dream last night. Or perhaps...several dreams at one go. However, there was one particular dream that was a little too close for comfort.

In that particular dream, I was out with a friend, Zubaidah. As usual, when it was time for prayers, we'd hunt for the nearest mosque to perform our obligations. Somehow or rather, we entered a mosque that was quite synonymous to an ex-boyfriend. I was hesitant, for fear of bumping into said guy and generating a whole lot of awkwardness. However, considering that Zubaidah and me were already there, we gingerly made our way in.

Upon entering the mosque, there was a small congregration, made up of males and mostly members of the mosque's youth wing. Of course, ex-boyfriend was amongst them, his head all wrapped up in a turban ala Arabian sheikhs. He noticed our arrival and gestured briefly in my direction, thus acknowledging my presence. I nodded briefly but quickly made my exit with Zubaidah towards the female ablution area.

It was in there that a shock awaited me. For the very same girl whom said ex-boyfriend has/had(?) a major liking for was there. She somehow knew and recognised me, and started to make small talk while I was busy with my business. Initially I replied briefly with monosyllabic answers, though gruffily. As her chatter continued, I became impatient and thus, snapped at her with:

"Shut up already!"

Ouch.

I don't know if the ex-boyfriend will ever read this but hey, if you do, I'm not sorry I did that in my dream. ;-p

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?