index // older // notes // tag // sign



22.08.2005 Monday afternoon @ 3:11 p.m.
*Goondu boy*

I am remembering a particular incident out of two, that happened last week during the PSLE Oral examintation.

It being an examination, the students were of course, nervous and possibly gabra (*note: panicking), having to read a passage, describe a picture AND have a conversation with two external examiners whom they have never seen before.

So yeah, my school had this system that worked as such: two groups of students are looked after in a Waiting Room (WR), before a student from each room is called out by their respective timekeepers to have their 5 minutes in pre-reading the given passage and pre-describing the given picture. At the end of 5 minutes, the two students will march to their respective Examination Room (ER) and wait outside for their turn to be called.

Of course, not being a Primary 6 teacher myself, I didn't recognise anyone in my group (I was a timekeeper on both days). Standing outside the WR, waiting for the next student to come and read his/her passage, one of the "guard" teachers beckoned to me, her hand grabbing the sleeve of a boy next to her.

"This boy went to the wrong ER!" she whispered furiously, her frustration targetted more at the boy rather than me (I guess).

I asked the boy for his name and to my horror of horrors, found out he was in my group after all! Upon further questioning, he admitted to marching straight out from the WR to the ER (and the wrong one at that!), without even reading the passage!

Such a goondu okay! I couldn't even imagine how he managed to slip past me.

Argh. Stoopid goondu!

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?