index // older // notes // tag // sign



14.10.2005 Friday morning @ 2:20 a.m.
*Past experience*

I was in a cab on the way home yesterday night, and the free-flowing conversation with the cabbie (I was mostly passive while Iskandar chatted more freely) reminded me of a similar incident, sometime last year or the year before.

It was morning and I had risen later than expected. There was a lecture/tutorial (can't remember which, save that I was already late) in 45 minutes and there I was, hailing madly for cabs. As it turned out, I got into one and thus expected the $16++ journey to be like most of the cab experiences I've had: silent and solitary.

But it was not to be.

The cabbie asked a question just 5 minutes into the journey. "Are you taking a degree?"

From there, it snowballed into my education history and career options, his life as a former police officer and current retiree-turned-leisure-cabbie, his daughter's current life and his overseas vacations. Damn, I never knew that a seemingly-reticent man could have so much to say. Never judge a book by its cover indeed.

I guess he liked chatting with me, albeit the fact that I was mostly polite and courteous with my replies [*read: short answers; the less words, the better], for after I'd paid the fare and was about to alight, he flashed a bright smile underneath the magnificent moustache and said:

"Nice talking to you!"

P/S: Silence in a cab is good. Silent cabbies are even better.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?