index // older // notes // tag // sign



04.01.2006 Wednesday morning @ 12:16 a.m.
*The monkeys return*

The first day of (official) work went pretty well. Quite smooth, if I may say so myself. I had been excited to see my kids again, albeit with some new additions. However, I was in for a surprise as I did not only have 4 new faces from 1B of 2005 (as a result of a reshuffling of kids in the Learning Support Programme [LSP]), I also had 2 new kids from other schools!

Imagine my shock when I strode into the hall and saw an unfamiliar face that I could not place. My old kids sent urgent whispers to me, "Teacher, got new boy." I turned to the far end and saw him.

A Chinese boy whose uniform appeared unironed but who possessed an intelligent face, was sitting there. I had yet to know about his mind and behaviour. When questioned, he provided clear and prompt answers. Ah, an indication that Kim Yong was not as dazed as new kids should be. He proved me right the minute he stepped into class. An exact replica of another boy I constantly terrorise with dangerous looks and verbal warnings. I made a mental note to observe Kim Yong further this week.

Some minutes later, a parent volunteer entered the hall with a Malay boy by her side. I thought he was a P1 pupil. Oh boy, was I wrong! She gestured to me and instantly my mind reeled. Not another new kid again?

Ah well, that rounded up the new faces in my class. This new Malay boy appeared timid yet calm. I discovered more surprising traits about him. He's able to warm up quickly to the other kids and mix with them like old-timers. He even volunteered and participated in games, providing accurate spellings and figures. Oh, and may I add? He was thoroughly well-behaved. *beam*

I think I've just fallen in love with Zamri. Hehehe.

Anyhow, I was glad to see all my kids, although a tinge of sadness stirred within me upon seeing 4 old kids in another class (due to said reshuffling in LSP). One of them was Khairul, a fat but cuddly-looking boy who shares my birthday. I really miss pinching his chubby cheeks. Sigh! Another was Farhan, a teeny-weeny boy who's one-half of a pair of twins (who happens to be in the class next to him). Such an adorable little fella, despite being a slow learner.

I don't think I managed to accomplish much on the first day. Have yet to formally establish class rules with the kids (I had gotten the tots to make their own rules last year by writing down for them on the board) and collect their workbooks. Haven't done any spot of decorating nor setting up or learning corners either. Hurhurhur, been a little slack. But on the other hand, I'm actually feeling more geared up to create resources and get the whole flow going. Maybe it's due to the fact that I'm not as confused as I was last year, when I had been thrust straight into P1. Alhamdulillah, glad I've gotten some spirit. ;)

Tomorrow, oh tomorrow! I shall do what I haven't done and I shall get them cracking on some work. They are P2s already, can't afford to be nice! *evil grin* Good that I've arranged the seating arrangment and appointed leaders. At least they won't have much of a chance to relax and talk, judging from where they're all sitting. :p

I just miss the rest of the gila colleagues. Hmmmph.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?