index // older // notes // tag // sign



07.04.2006 Friday morning @ 1:21 a.m.
*Of bikes and riding*

I caught a glimpse of an info-tainment programme on Suria (a local channel targetted at the Malay-speaking audience) yesterday evening, called "Aura Femina". The focus was on women who rode motorcyles and scooters, so the host(ess) had interviewed a few female personalities who had had rode on such vehicles before.

Somehow, that topic sparked off a memory from the morning earlier. I was in a taxi on the way to school, and as usual, I would be looking out of the windows, staring at passing traffic. Yesterday morning would have been like any other morning, except that my eyes had suddenly caught sight of a pink scrambler, just a few metres ahead. The rider was a girl of course, because no sane guy in his right mind would be daring enough to ride on such a vehicle (probably).

But that's just my theory.

Anyway, even though said girl was wearing a helmet with a dark visor on, I had no trouble identifying the piece of cloth that was flowing through in the wind. It was a scarf. Even the reticent cabbie perked up and remarked to me, "So, you got a riding license?"

I replied, "I wish. I can't even ride a bicycle."

We both had a hearty laugh. :)

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?