index // older // notes // tag // sign



20.02.2008 Wednesday morning @ 11:02 a.m.
*Of perils in the force*

Read the papers yesterday and saw an article about a relief teacher who was sacked for mocking his students.

My initial reaction? Young and thoughtless. Let's face it. He is all of 21 years of age and very, very new to the force. Probably fresh from NS, he wouldn't know any better about the detailed dos and don'ts of teaching. He would have been briefed by his mentor/heads of the school.

However, I feel that we can't just pinpoint our fingers at the management for not informing him about the impending perils of posting confidential information on the World Wide Web (WWW), for currently, there are no clear guidelines by The People Up There with regards to publishing students' work online. It is merely an unwritten rule that organisational/student matters be kept strictly confidential.

Moving on!

Bearing in mind my age and the responsibilities that I am currently shouldering, never did I expect to mentor any trainee teachers at this point in time. I'm not sure if it was the head's decision, but I feel apprehensive and inadequate. I don't know if I'll be able to part the right kind of knowledge and teaching practices to the trainee, who happens to be an ex-colleague who did her contract stint here! She is considered "experienced" as she is familiar with the school system and most of the staff, so how would she feel when she learns that I will be mentoring her?

Oh God. I hope I don't botch it up. I seriously need to sit down with any of the HODs and get a proper briefing on my task.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?