index // older // notes // tag // sign



26.01.2002 Sat morn @ 5:16 a.m.
*Make a friend and lose another?*

"I'm amazed that I survived..."

No, an airbag did not save my life...it hasn't cos I haven't had the initiative to take up driving. And somehow, I don't intend to. Okay, maybe it might come in handy someday but for now it just doesn't interest me. I'd much rather take up riding but then again, I can't operate a bike! *chuckles*

*chuckles turn into groan*

Ow..ow..pain..pain..I can feel the ultimate urge to berrie...again. But this is a good indication cos last time (quite recently also) I had trouble pooh-ing remember? Okay, maybe you don't but I do cos it's my ass hello? Ahh...yes yes...but I'm also hungry now. Isn't that revolting? Ehh...I can just see this as a lesson note!

------

Revolting feelings

S.I.O : To be able to feel hungry and wanting to berrie at the same time

Resources : My tummy, my ass, lots of food and lots of toxins

------

Isn't that great? *cynical wry grin* Hurrah! I can conduct this type of lessons even with my eyes closed! *cynical wry grin yet again*

Oh...it'll never come true anyway. Hardy har har.

...

I was reminiscing and thinking about something just now and I remembered my good 'ol times in primary school. I was such a spoilt brat then (still feeling pretty spoilt but then no one's been complaining =p), especially in p1-p2. Ahhh...those were the days. In p3 I started to feel much better and had to learn about independence the hard way. Not only independence but also self-reliance and probably a whole lot of other good things from my parents. I never did like Art lessons cos I just hated handicraft and all that kind of work, so I never got any As or Bs. The best I could achieve was a C and hey, I wasn't proud of it I tell you. Seeing my classmates getting As and Bs and producing such fake yet creative work didn't make me feel any better. Why do I call their work fake yet creative? Cos they brought back wonderful things that have been altered in some way by their parents. Boy..I didn't think that was fair but then I hadn't the good sense to see that it was wrong. To me it wasn't fair cos their parents helped them. Mine didn't! They never offered to help me "do Art", especially my dad. There was once we had to carve something out of soap and I just couldn't make that damn shoe no matter how much I tried. So I asked my dad to carve it for me. Which he did, surprisingly, but when I brought it to school, I didn't feel proud of myself. I didn't take it out of my bag (I think) and I didn't hand it up. I said I hadn't finished it.

...

"Both my parents taught me about goodwill..."

Yes they did. I quote Ani, they sure did. Somehow, I'm glad that my parents never helped me in Art or the other lessons for that matter. I mean, they supervised my work but whatever mistakes they spotted, they told me to re-check and figure out the solutions myself. At times when I really couldn't, they'd step in but only when they've made sure that I was truly helpless. Ahhh...the spirit of self-reliance. I guess my parents drilled and drilled me for this purpose. Looking back, it's made me realise that they had probably wanted to make me a better person not just academic-wise but also as a whole. True, I'm not exactly an all-rounder, but I'm happy and proud of whatever I've achieved. Be it my D in Bio or F in Econs, hey...I got them with my own effort. *sheepish grin* And there sure was a lack of effort! *chuckles*

...

Primary school days had its downs too. Falling out with friends seemed a distant memory but it sure happened. But we made up. Sure...all the triffles and childish squabbles seem unnecessary now but back then, it helped us to develop our critical thinking. What went wrong? What have I done? What did she do? Why did we fight when we're good pals? How can I make this better? Do I really want to lose her as a friend? Do I have other friends whom I can also depend on in times of need? These questions roamed at the back of my mind whenever we fought. Okay, maybe not that exact but you get the idea. And at times when we fought, it wasn't pretty. Of course I hadn't learn to do anything physical yet...there were mostly heated verbal exchanges through letters and notes, and I still remember, even after we got out of p school, the occasional fights continued. I guess maybe we went different ways and so it was hard to constantly keep in contact cos we had other commitments in different environments. Some of us continued with the co-ed system while some ventured to new pastures like single-gender lines. Oh, hell yeah. I still remember, there was this one time Nani and me fought, and we actually exchanged hate mail. I still have those letters and whenever I read them again, they're a painful reminder of what went sour. But we made up. We always do. Alhamdulillah...I'm glad we made up. However long we haven't talked or met up, it just seemed redundant cos she will always be my friend from primary school. And talking about friendship, it's just so important for me to sustain it. Sometimes I get tired and I feel that it's useless to maintain anything cos past incidents mostly indicated that there's just nothing common anymore and that I've been made a fool too many times. But that dogged loyalty always tugged at me. And then I'd make the move to patch things up. However, there was a time when I didn't want to do anything. I felt I wasn't in the wrong so why should I try to change the situation? I didn't feel like being the goody-two shoes that I was always known as. No, for once I'd just keep mum. If I lose her, then so be it. And surprise, surprise, she made the initiative and apologised. *sigh* And all that happened a week before my 17th birthday. How times fly by.

...

Wow...I hadn't realised I'd taken up so much space already. And heck, it's 10 minutes to 6 now. Morning lar. And I have things to do later. Ahh...but then at least my vetting has been pushed back to next Friday so that's a relief. *relieved* Har har, how redundant.

Oh well, there will be other days for other things.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?