index // older // notes // tag // sign



02.07.2002 Tuesday evening @ 9:37 p.m.
*Shagged slacked and gobsmacked out right flat*

I don't like sailing. I've never sailed but I don't think I'll ever like it. I mean, I don't mind if I were to be a proper competitor in sailing or at least, sail for the fun of it on the wide open sea. But to accompany just one measly, pathetic student who just happens to be the sole competitor in a sailing competition, I'll say it isn't worth it me being there. Complete waste of my time.

Don't get me wrong though. I love this dear girl. She's charming, sporty, smart and extremely helpful. But seriously, I can do better things than accompany her there just because it is compulsory for a teacher to be around. Bleah. Why do we always get bullied?

. . .

You know I never liked bullying of any kind. In fact when I was in school, I was the one who would get bullied. Mind you, this isn't a sob story or anything. I'm not like some people who'd do anything to gain sympathy. Just merely and casually mentioning some facts, that's all. *wide grin* So as I was saying, I just don't like the idea of bullying. Be it physical or emotional.

However, it's rather interesting to note that even though I seem to detest the idea of bullying, I always do manage to get myself entangled in it. It's like I'm a whole different person when I bully someone. Haha. And yes, I do enjoy it. Mighty lots. You get to exercise a whole lot of power over this somebody else who is under your buckle. Isn't that fun? *evil grin*

So far, it hasn't been serious. Well, not quite. I mean I don't think I'm a serious bully. Er...I mean, I don't bully with intent. It just happens naturally. I don't go round thinking, "Oh, today I'm going to get someone else to replace me on duty" or "Hmmm, such a good day to pretend to be sick and get that nice relief teacher to take over that naughty 3A". No, on the contrary, sometimes I'm forced by circumstances. And no, this is not an excuse. However much I enjoy doing it, it happens pretty naturally.

It's like a defence mechanism. Us young teachers are always prone to bullying of the extreme kind. Just because we're young, we get pushed around a lot. Not literally but you know what I mean. Go to this competition, accompany that class to a learning journey, set the CA paper, relieve this teacher's class, take over the CCA, yada yada yada and the list goes on. And just because we're YOUNG, the other and senior teachers ALWAYS assume that we WILL give in ALL the time to THEIR demands. Like, "Oh, can you please swop places with me for our open house cos I want to do the morning shift cos my great-grandfather has to undergo some major operation on his ass" or "Suhaila can you take over my class the whole day cos I have to attend a very important meeting of professional idlers alike on Monday, Tuesday and every other day of the week" or "Dah-ling, can you go to that North-South-East-West-sambal-belachan-is-the-best Cluster meeting in my place cos it's really good exposure for you"...BLEAH! What a load of crap! Rubbish!

Given the school environment, it's no wonder they're like that. So I can't blame them that much aye? Like who the frigging fuck cares, WE young ones are the ones who kena, not them. WE get the shitloads of work, work and more work. WE get the crazy kids whom THEY aren't able to handle and whom they tell us to "take out of the class" cos THEY can't control them. WE are the ones who receive the scoldings when THEY make some blunder or mistake. It's always US who get it, isn't it?

And Jo was just wondering why my workload was so much when in her previous school, hers didn't even pile up to that and she was just like moi, a contract teacher to begin with.

Jinkies.

. . .

Now, when I bully my brother, it's a different story altogether. *evil grin*



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?