index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.07.2002 Saturday afternoon @ 4:30 p.m.
*Of Us And Them*

If I'm 14, would I be able to have students professionally?

Oh well, not unless I'm the daughter of Farooq Yusuf, whose children have been taught through accelerated learning. Why, his son Iskander and daughter Noraisha have just gotten their degrees from Warwick University, England. And they're 15 and 19 respectively.

Read the papers.

. . .

I just had this 13-year-old boy click on my nick. I wasn't going to tell him I'm 20. I just said I'm much older than him. And he being the curious young mind who is growing up, went on to ask one of the things that most women lie about. So I just replied that I'm old enough to have students his age. And then he made the one stupid mistake that proved he's just another lost idiotic kid.

"Are you 14?"

Tsk.

Read between the lines honey!

Tsk.

My question is, do these young kids know the dangers that lurk behind the virtual world? Even growing adults or adolescents like me are so clueless and so prone to "wolves in sheeps' clothing", what more them?

They start young these days, sometimes even as young as 11 or 12. Still in primary school and still narrow in their thinking, I might say. Why, I've taught kids like that and let me tell ya, that in this line, sometimes it is you who have to bring yourself down to their level because however matured we think these upper primary/lower secondary kids are, the truth of the matter is, kids will be kids, especially the boys. The girls aren't so bad (yes I'm sounding biased here, something Miss Huda is always accused of) because as scientific research shows, girls grow up faster than boys, hence their far developed minds. It's really hard to find a really mature boy at the upper primary level.

Oh well, if you find one, do tell me.

. . .

And yes, "I Not Stupid" is an excellent movie. 'Nuff said.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?