index // older // notes // tag // sign



12.08.2002 Sunday night @ 12:49 a.m.
*Review*

Technically it's a Monday but it does still feel like Sunday so who cares.

. . .

I have been slacking and rotting and slacking and rotting. God knows when I'm gonna start cracking. Okay, so I do crack in school, just not at home. I just can't seem to do work at home. I like to procrastinate and delay and digress and then at the end of it I like to blame my home environment. *tut tut* Oh well, but there are distractions you know.

Went for that Fiesta Femina @ SP yesterday and well, well...can I just say that not only do I know other people who can sing far better than some of the characters, but they can also dance better too. So there. All in all, only Lynn can sing pretty well (I can verify this even if I never went to the show). The others were disappointing. They clearly were not singers even if they tried to be, but then the least they could do was practise and get their pitches right or get Lynn to oversee/coach their singing.

There was also a lack of continuity between scenes. The scenes that were supposed to follow were too long to be constructed, ie. props were not set up as quickly as possible in the shortest time. I have to admit that perhaps lack of manpower (or womanpower in this sense) was the main reason for this, since I clearly saw (with the help of my glasses of course) that there were only about 4-5 gerls who were the so-called "backstage" helpers. Considering that there were quite a few chairs and tables to be carried on and off, this really slowed down scenes and such, the entire performance. It was supposed to end by 5.30 but it finished a staggering half an hour later.

Kudos though to the main cast for putting up quite a believable show. Effa was truly adorable, with her "kecohrable" antics and speech. She livened up the atmosphere that was otherwise deadpan. The other cast members weren't that bad either, save for the fact that yours truly found Laila's whining and wailing a tad too overbearing that it was comical. But in any case, I suppose the themes incorporated required such acting. *grin*

Well, enough of my critiques. I tend to be too critical at times but I was really speaking straight from down there. Erm, ya get what I mean. Those unagreeing souls, especially from the afore-mentioned production or school, please email me if you're not satisfied or whatever. Kindly try not to use the g-book as a form of protest.

Thank you.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?