index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.10.2002 Sunday night @ 10:17 p.m.
*Close Encounters Of The Hairy Kind*

So I'm multi-tasking again. Okay, big deal. I've done this many times. I'll get shagged the night before the dateline. It's always like that. Give me strength God, please give me strength.

. . .

I'm guilty of stalking other people's journals, said Joe. Well, I just read her journal and instantly it brought back memories of my Sec. 3 days.

It was around midterm and I remember, I was feeling itchy-fingered. Sunday night and I was preparing my stuff for school after which, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. Okay well, dad's mirror to be exact cos at that time, we were living in the old house at Tampines and dad's room received my frequent attention cos of his nice, huge, dressing table mirror. So anyhow, there I was, admiring my thick below-the-shoulder-length hair, and imagining how I'd look like with Ryder's bob. I was such a ardent fan of hers back then.

Somehow, a heaty feeling overcame me and I wondered what my friends' reactions would be if I appeared with short hair. So I grabbed some newspapers and a pair of scissors, and I started to just cut bits of my hair off. It was alright cos I'd done it before, cut my own hair and went to school and besides the fact that it had been slightly lop-sided, received approvals for my self-hair-cutting. And well, I was feeling OTT and cutting bunches of hair off that I didn't realise that my head was seeming to be like a football field covered with patches of mud.

I peered at the end result and spent a bloody long time scrutinising myself in the mirror. When I got up in the morning, my mam didn't even notice I had hair that was shorter than usual! Tsk. However, I wore a cap just to cover it and of course, I had to take it off in school cos we weren't allowed to wear caps or bandannas during curriculum time. Thank goodness it's a single-gender school. At least I didn't have to face humiliation from boys! It was enough having my friends examine my head and hair and passing remarks that obviously took the mickey out of me.

In any case, my mam took me to the hairdresser near my block and had my hair trimmed real short such that I looked like a butch. Argh. But my hair grew really fast and within 3 months, it was back to shoulder length again.

So, can anyone tell me what the moral of the story is?

And please, be creative.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?