index // older // notes // tag // sign



10.11.2002 Sunday evening @ 10:36 p.m.
*Work VS Breaking Fast*

I feel like a vampire.

. . .

I did a little self-reflection after Maghrib prayers.

It's a blessing to be with your family or loved ones during the breaking of the fast. It's a blessing to have food on the table. It's a blessing to be home, safe and warm from torrential weather or critical situations. In fact, everything's a blessing even if there are underlying meanings behind each and every blessing.

I thought about people who weren't so lucky in this month of Ramadhan. And no, I'm not referring to those in dire straits or in need of publc assistance. I'm talking about who have to work shifts or irregular hours.

These people are not fortunate enough to be with their families at times. Even during breaking fast, they are working, earning money to provide a better life for their loved ones. They might be serving the country, battling enemies or long hours of training regime. They might be saving lives, operating on the ill and sickly, too busy to respond to the muezzin to even drink a glass of water. They might be involved in other types of work or occupation that I'm not even aware of. (Not illegal I hope.)

Whatever it is, these people work hard to help provide food on the table and pay the monthly bills. They can be your father, mother, brother, sister, husband, wife etc. They can even be a buddy or a close loved one.

But whoever they are, they deserve a round of applause for their efforts only God can reward.

. . .

I have my mixer!

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?