index // older // notes // tag // sign



05.12.2002 Thursday afternoon @ 2:16 p.m.
*Money Mind*

I have to go the bank. But I'm a little dazed.

. . .

For those of you who already have incomes and are celebrating Eid, I suppose you suffer from this problem every year. I mean, I don't know whether it's a practice in other countries where the Muslims give money to children during Eid, but in Singapore, we do. I mean, it's like a tradition that if you're a working adult and you don't give those little imps the money that they've been eyeing, they'd flash you that horrendous murderous look. *smirk* Or if they happen to "peep" into their packets and see that you give less than what they had expected, you'd still get the Look after all.

This isn't exactly the first year that I've given out money. I experienced it for the first time last year, although at that time, I was just trying to "practise" giving. I only gave to younger cousins, relatives and relatives of close friends. But this year, I'm trying to make it a nice habit. I just feel that since I'm old enough to receive a pay, I'm also old enough to give the children money for Eid. I rather see it as zakat (*Note: alms given to the needy to help them, usually money). Some of those children whom I'm intending to give zakat to have parents who are not so well-off, or who have been laid off. Times are bad.

Oh well, I know everyone is need of money now. Even we are tightening our belts. But I just don't like to disappoint the kids. They're sure to be wondering if I never gave them any.

And there's something that I myself have always thought about when I was younger. How come some people, even though they're in bad shape and are hardly seen with cash, have money to spare for the children during Eid? Hmmm. Perhaps they scrimped and saved but..still, how?

Only God knows.

. . .

Happy Eid Al-Mubarak everyone.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?