index // older // notes // tag // sign



16.01.2003 Thursday morning @ 4:44 a.m.
*Mad on Welsh*

Such is the life of a trainee on practicum. No life.

I'm still stuck on my English lesson plan for the day. It's an easy lesson and I've gotten it all figured out. But Mr Freeze tempts me. He tempts me and then he lures me. And now I'm surfing Mogwai.

I want to learn Welsh. Seems exciting. Sounds vulgar when you try to pronounce the words but linguistics interest me.

. . .

Arbed amser ar ben fy hun. Cynnal cof ac atgofion blin. Pwyth am bwyth chwant am chwant.

A pob tro dwi'n codi'r ffon, mae'n dweud "dial". Dial anweddus nid grym arswydus aur, thus a myrr.

Tonfedd sur a chalon o ddur. Adeiladu ffiniau eglur. Newid tonfedd nofio'r don.

Dal yr abwyd nerth dy ben, cwyd i'r wyneb. Dial anweddus nid grym arswydus aur, thus a myrr.



And here comes the literal translation. Well, not quite..but it suffices!



Spending time on my own, hold a memory and bitter recollections. Switch for switch, lust for lust.

And each time I answer the phone it says "revenge". Indecent revenge, not a terrible power. Gold, frankincense and myrrh.

A sour wavelength and a heart of steel building clear boundaries. Changing wavelength, swimming the wave.

Hold the bait with all your might, rise to the surface. Indecent revenge, not a terrible power. Gold, frankincense and myrrh.

. . .

And myrrh is a gum resin used in perfumes, incense and etceteras. Just so.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?