index // older // notes // tag // sign



01.02.2003 Saturday afternoon @ 2:56 p.m.
*Chinese New Year*

February. Anyone's birthday in February? Let me think..*think*..

Oh yes, Nani's. And hers as well. :)

. . .

Yesterday I had dinner with them.

It was supposed to have been a late lunch-cum-dinner but the rain and traffic did get in the way of things, so we had dinner officially around 7.

Eveyone knew the plan but only the birthday girl had no idea that "dessert" was going to be her belated birthday cake, kindly made by Maya. It was only after we had finished the main courses that she realised she had to cut the cake. Haha. But at least everyone enjoyed themselves, lest I think they all did. I for one enjoyed myself tremendously.

It's not often that we get to meet. Usually it'd be me and Huda since our schedules are quite similar, which is why we try to meet up with the other two occasionally when they are able to make it. What with Azila's work and Hairul serving the country, outings are a rare pleasure nowadays.

A not so bad January. Thank goodness we managed it. Would this month be as manageable?

. . .

Moving on to another thing which isn't so important, I received a message, no two, from Zah yesterday noon.

The minute I stepped into the house, my phone vibrated. Thought it was either Huda or Azila but surprise surprise, it was Zah. So I thought well, okay, here are nice forwarded messages, with nice pictures and cutesy letterings. But ooh, was I wrong or what.

Apparently she had a male friend who had another friend by my name and he wanted "to get to know" me. Hum. Tactics we all know aye? But I didn't mind. Just a phone conversation that was full of angst and differing opinions. No matter.

In any case, this guy decided to become "open" with me, baring all that's hidden. Which, to me, isn't such a big deal as long as one knows one's past mistakes and one learns from them. But in the first place, I didn't need to know about his past rendezvous and experimentations. Hah! Why tell me when I'm someone you barely know?

Oh well, I think I have a good guess as to why he told me all that. Guys have this thing about telling girls "their past" and whatchamacallit. I mean, okay, so guys want to tell their beloved girlfriends all about their previous girlfriends, scandals and partners so that they are "particularly honest" and their girlfriends "can accept them" regardless of their dirty past.

However, I don't think there is a need to bare all to the girlfriends, what more strangers. Being honest is fine, but there is a limit to which one can handle. Also, in a serious relationship (mind you, this is just my theory), if both parties are already so happy, I don't think further bad news regarding the past would be too pleasing to the ears.

And that's just in a serious relationship. I was only a listener on the phone. Balance the logic please.

. . .

I matchmade them!

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?