index // older // notes // tag // sign



17.02.2003 Monday night @ 11:00 p.m.
*From the genuine to the fake*

Today I want to talk about thieves.

The word "thieves" is equivalent to "robbers" (if I'm right because right now my bro has the thesaurus and it's killing me because that's a personal favourite) and there are many types of thieves around. I just want to focus, however, on virtual thieves, and no, I'm not talking about hackers, because they're just that, hackers aren't they? They hack, they break in and they might alter information but I don't think they steal. No, I just don't think so but if I'm wrong, please do correct me because I'm not too familiar with some net jargon.

I'm referring to layout-stealing people, those who steal other people's hard work/designs. Whatever the synonyms, the former are thieves. When you take without asking or notifying, and worse still, when you take and modify the design, it is still considered stealing. I don't care what it is, it's just wrong.

Some designers are kind and they do allow fellow D-landers to twig around and change a colour or a font here and there, but the link back to them is an unwritten law. It just simply isn't right to manipulate a certain design to suit your own taste and then call it your own creation. That's just bullshit. You didn't create anything in the first place because you started with someone else's work!

I don't want to be a tell-tale because it inconveniences parties that are related and that in turn will make other heads squirm. But just to show you what I mean, view this wonderful piece of work and tell me whether it seems familiar to you. It should be, because there are several D-landers who use that design and have the link back to the designer in their diaries.

However, should you see a similar piece of work somewhere, well, you know who's the artiste and who's the thief.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?