index // older // notes // tag // sign



23.08.2004 Monday evening @ 6:17 p.m.
*Shifting the blame*

Sometimes I don't get my dad. He can be the most thoughtless and reckless person on certain occasions. Don't get me wrong. It's not that I don't appreciate and care for him; I do. But he really annoys me sometimes.

It's always because of financial matters. Ever since I started earning my own money, I've come to realise what a spendthrift he is and how he doesn't think before spending a certain amount of money. He lacks a certain vision when it comes to major decisions pertaining to our family.

For instance, the one thing that's currently bothering me, is the fact that he is blaming me for us having moved to our current house. The fact that his CPF has been used up for some of the house payments and that my mother's CPF might not be enough to cover the rest of the payments, is due to him having refused to listen to me 7 years ago.

I had been adamant on not moving house; I had wanted to remain in the old house. Why? Well, one sole reason was because that house had been fully paid for. There were no more debts to think of, no hassle of thinking of ways to come up with money for house payments. But did he listen to me? He brushed me aside just 'cos I was a 15-year-old kid who hadn't been earning her own income yet.

I told him that it might have been a mistake to move house, that he should have at least listened to me before deciding upon selling the old house, and what did he say?

"Salah Ila sebab tak beri buah fikiran kat ayah sebelum nak jual."

Like, what the effing shit was that? Did I not tell him to not move? Was I not persistent in staying? Did I not object and retaliate when he announced that he wanted us to move?

I just don't get him sometimes.



. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?