index // older // notes // tag // sign



13.09.2005 Tuesday morning @ 1:05 a.m.
*Blessed be*

Was browsing through my archives and read a few posts which brought me back to 3-4 years ago. Ahh...how time flies. One minute you're a newbie trying to learn the ropes, the next minute you're a already a a year plus into the job.

I particularly remembered this entry because that was the first time in my life I've ever felt incompetent in teaching. My mood was ultra-low that I'd even contemplated on suicide. Astargfirullah. That was really bad okay. I mean, I probably wouldn't be here now if it weren't for Maria. She was there for me when I needed a friend most and up till today, I'm really grateful to her.

She just about saved my life. Alhamdulillah.

It just goes to show that words are just as lethal as weapons in killing you, if not worse. I mean, okay...so words kill your spirit, but when you are that low in the dumps, you could be driven to do stupid things.

Which is why it's very important to watch what you say. Think before you speak. I know when we're all excited and passionate about something, we tend to speak our minds and forget the real impact of our words, especially when we're being critical of others. I mean, there's no harm in criticising, but just make sure it's constructive. Bring up suggestions that have the potential to improve rather than bring the person down with verbal bullets. At the end of the day, we all want to feel good about ourselves.

I feel really blessed to be where I am now, in this particular school. Sure, there are people who are not worth my time and effort but sod it. As long as my kids learn and have a good time, I don't care to hang around people like them.

Like that old bitch who used to be my P.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?