index // older // notes // tag // sign



19.12.2002 Thursday noon @ 12:15 p.m.
*The Long And Winding Roads*

I had a great time yesterday. It was stupendous and it was all in the name of merry-making. Ho ho ho.

. . .

This might be tedious. I've never done a really chronological remembrance of chains of events. Gulp. No hooray for Blunders..

Oh, dash it all! I'm just going to write what I remember most!

. . .

There were only 4 of us waiting at Woodlands MRT Station. The usual us, who else. We saw Wak, dressed in glimmering yellow-gold. Hur hur. And what did he have to say? "I'm going to another channel's Eid outing." Blah. We guessed as much.

Spot aka my newly-appointed-elder-cousin fetched us in his dad's car at KFC. His house was obviously the first and we had our also-first shot. *beam* Just us you see. The rest are not in the picture. Yet. We were also tickled by his dad, who was a star in his hey-days, accepting singing invitations etc. Now we know where Spot gets his merry laugh. *grin*

The mother being out at work, we then proceeded to the East in 2 cars; Frog and the Evil Twins in Spot's friend's car while Spot himself drove me around in his dad's car. Okay, sounds confusing but really, it's all simple. I felt like a Honourable Mother Queen even though I was seated beside Spot. Hur hur.

We made a short stop at Semah's house where she rushed up to change her lenses, then we drove to Lan's where apparently, he had fallen into a slumber while waiting for us. And we had actually called him up before we arrived. Tsk. With the mam hovering before us like a prison guard, *shudder*, we listened to her account of Lan's tales of mischief. Oh well, parents tend to do that a lot. But Lan's a good boy. He doesn't retaliate nor talk bad about her behind her. We have long realised this. He just sat there on the floor, grinning from ear to ear. Good boy. Second shot taken. *beam*

Next stop: Frog's friend's house. Oh, us girls are no strangers to her, because we are already acquainted with the sister, being in the same institution for 2 years, and me and her were also classmates in secondary school back then. And here it is..

Suhaila's Irritating Annoying Trait: Scream and jump on the spot upon seeing 'ol and long-lost friends, and then proceed to hold them in a tight embrace for a good solid 5 minutes. (At least, it seemed like 5 minutes. *grin*) That's a trait I inherited from being in a single-gender school. I don't know. I think it's because I was in that school that I am like that. Oh well, or maybe I'm just an excitable creature.

But we had a really good time. And really good food. *grin grin* The elder hostess had cooked spaghetti and was really kind and I love spaghetti and I think we were all of us slightly hungry, so it was a blessing. Heh. The younger hostess was equally kind and gracious and made us feel thoroughly at home. Haha and no, I am not sucking up to her. *grin grin* Both ladies made us feel welcome. Oh, but with food around, I will always make myself feel welcome! *chuckle* And snap snap! went the cameras.

Our fourth destination was away in Boon Lay. Here was where all the drama began. Fit enough to win an Oscar I'd say. The person whom we were headed to has parents who do not know that we are the son's IRC mates. Those are that kind of parents who believe all IRC mates to be the people from hell. Or whatever. But we had to call the son by his real and proper name, not the nickname that he constantly used online. Therefore, before going up, we were already engaged in intense planning.

The main source of contact between Mr. "Izzat" and us was Lan. Lan was his long-lost schoolmate who had suddenly moved away. Limah is Lan's sister. Semah and me are sisters and Limah's and Lan's cousins as well from the maternal side. Spot is Semah's and my cousin from the paternal side. Frog is obviously Semah's dear. And so the stage was set.

However when we got up, all our hard work went down the drain. We were just his friends from a Ramadhan camp that he had attended sometime last year. I was secretly relieved, for at least that little white lie is better than the heaps of stories that we had invented. Spot still stayed as my elder cousin who had been dragged in as a driver. Click! Click! :p

. . .

My house was next. Biggie joined us there amidst brownies and roti boyan (*Note: an Indonesian delicacy origination from Bawean Islands. "Roti" means bread in Malay and "boyan" is Malay for Bawean. Hence, it means Bawean bread.) while Spot took a short nap. He deserved that nap, for he had to work at night. The rest took the chance to perform their prayers and just chill for a while watching Hi-5. Memories were etched once more. *chuckle*

But oh, trudge on we must!

. . .

Frog's place was next. Parents being not at home, Limah and me took the liberty of resting our backs against the plush settee, she nibbling on thin toothpick-like tapioca chips while I entertained myself by mumbling the dialogue from the classic P. Ramlee "Bujang Lapok" series. Biggie thought I was delirious. I was. *chuckle* Lan had already inhibited himself with guffaws upon watching me, while Spot assisted Frog and Semah with the video. The Video. Parents suddenly made a grand entrance, so after a few minutes we cleared ourselves and went to the last-intended house: Limah's.

We spent time being stoned out, with Lan catching a little bit of snooze before the original plan of either Swensen's or Pizza Hut was scrapped. The tables have turned. On to Biggie's! We didn't spend that much time at his place either. On the whole, I think we spent the least times at Limah's and Biggie's. We had to consider the fact that Spot had to rush back to work at 10.30pm and if we really went for dinner/supper after Biggie's, then it'd be even more a rush for my fake paternal cousin. Therefore, after Lan and Mr. "Izzat" had been dropped off at Admiralty MRT Station, Spot had his dad's car parked back at the multi-storey carpark beside his block (Spot's place was pretty near Biggie's) and then proceeded to drive us back to Bedok in his friend's car which had bird-shit dropped on it earlier. Tsk. We'd cleaned it!

We feel so indebted to Spot. He made a lot of sacrifices and I'm sure we all shared the feeling of being sorry when we had to part with him. We initiated but he realised those plans. Even on the last camp outing with him, we felt sorry to part. Sigh. Such a wonderful guy. Frog and me felt that there was something bothering him yet he truly enjoyed his day.

We are still wondering.

. . .

All in all, I'd like to thank each and everyone involved who had made our IRC Eid outing a blast. A special mention to Mr. Spot, who had ensured a very smooth outing.

I hope to have another one real soon. Real soon. *smile*

. . .

Hey, we never took pictures at Frog's!

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?