index // older // notes // tag // sign



20.11.2002 Wednesday afternoon @ 4:36 p.m.
*Soulmates*

I had a great late morning-afternoon time. Spending a few hours curled up on a cozy comforter with my nose in a book is truly heaven. Heaven! I actually finished that one book.

Read it?

. . .

You know, when I stumble on other people's journals, I always catch an inkling whether or not they're involved in relationships. That little tiny detail will never escape me, no matter how little revealed it is. Sometimes I conjecture, and sometimes I just know, but most times I find myself correct.

This is not to say that I am professing to be a Number 1 Kepo(*Note: nosyparker) or that I am gifted at finding out details of people's lives that are not of much significance to me. It's just that well, it interests me and sometimes I imagine myself to be a detective along the likes of Mr. Poirot or Ms. Marple, and no doubt I have been influenced by reading most of her books.

However, I shan't digress. I just wanted to think out loud and type at the same time. But this isn't a commentary. It's just a way of expressing my ideas.

I have written some entries regarding love before. In fact, I think unconsciously, I have inserted love as a sort of theme throughout all my entries. This might bring back some memories. I even included an excerpt from a Malay novel as a follow-up. Darn, I enjoyed that book.

Anyhow, I read a few journals just now and then the idea of soulmates crossed my mind. I thought about marriage and somehow, the idea of fusing soulmate and marriage didn't seem all that real to me.

Most people believe that after a break-up, they had actually gone through a period of relationship with someone whom they had believed to be "the one". Scenarios such as a guy/girl being dumped by their girlfriend/boyfriend..well these things are common are they not? They are. They are so common that we always hear consoling words such as "he's not the one" or "she wasn't the right one" and so on. At times this might be true. But what if it isn't? I mean, what if the person whom you thought was your ideal partner in life, is really "the one"? (Notice the "if".)

I know that a theory has been formulated. That your ideal partner or soulmate or whatever you want to call it, might not be the person whom you will eventually settle down with. And it's true actually. It got me thinking.

At some point in time, I, being the less-than-mature teenager with my own ideals, actually thought that I'd spend my days with this one person. However, I was proved wrong. Because right now, I'm with another person who loves me sincerely and deeply. (And now you're thinking, oh no, she's gone crackers, delving into her love life.) My point is, at times I just can't help reminiscing over the good times I had with that other person. I had really believed him to be my soulmate, even though we had never been more than just friends.

Sometimes it's like that you know? You get on great with someone, you click well with them, but you're nothing more than just friends. You can never end up together because it's just not meant to be. So no matter the numerous times I have tried to convince myself that that person was truly my soulmate, I could never be with him. Simply because it just wasn't meant to be. Period.

Someone who you think might be a future spouse could very well be a distant memory. Long years of friendship or courtship doesn't make a difference. If it's not meant to be, it won't be. That's how the One has made it.

I have accepted it long ago after making the same mistake twice.

. . .

Have a good Wednesday.

. . .

back // forth
Diaryland // Email?